Buffalo State Honors 12 Buffalo Public School Teachers

Share with...
Buffalo State College’s Center for Excellence in Urban and Rural Education will honor 12 Buffalo Public School teachers during a reception to inaugurate its “Be a Hero, Be a Teacher” program from 4 p.m. – 6 p.m., on Thursday, Dec. 18, 2003 at the Burchfield-Penney Art Center in Rockwell Hall on the campus at 1300 Elmwood Ave.

The recognition comes after the center’s year-long recruitment initiative to attract students, specifically of color, to the teaching profession. Posters featuring the 12 teacher heroes, which will be displayed throughout the community to promote a positive image of the profession and develop interest in teaching careers will be unveiled, as well.

The teachers who will be honored are:

Jose Acevedo, who teaches bilingual studies at Stanley Makowski, School 99;

Marguerite Bell, who teaches social studies at Southside Elementary, School 93;

Kathy Burr, a librarian at Waterfront Elementary, School 95;

Siu Connor, an elementary teacher at St. Lawrence Academy, School 86;

John Collins, a science teacher at the New Opportunity Center at Kensington High School;

Clintonia Graves, an elementary school teacher at Westminster Community, School 68;

David Griffin, a technology teacher at McKinley High School;

Peter Hurley, a science teacher at Hutchinson Technical High School;

Claudia Kania, a special education teacher at School 84;

Robert Teixeira, an elementary teacher at the Early Childhood Center, School 61;

Cynthia Pearson, an English teacher at South Park High School; and,

Frank Scinta, a music teacher at the Buffalo Academy for Visual and Performing Arts.

The “Be a Hero, Be a Teacher” program is sponsored by a grant provided by the John R. Oishei Foundation and completed in collaboration with the Buffalo Teachers Federation.

Media Contact:
Nanette Tramont, Director of News Services | 7168784325 | newsservices@bscmail.buffalostate.edu